© 2024 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Complete coverage of Elections 2020. Reporting on major contested races in New Hanover and Brunswick Counties.

Local Election Results

Among the six candidates for New Hanover County School Board Stephanie Walker, Hugh McManus, and Stephanie Kraybill have all won seats. WHQR reports this flips the Board to Democratic control. Walker received the highest number of votes, followed by Kraybill and McManus. The seven-member board now has a make-up of 5 Democrats and 2 Republicans. 

North Carolina’s 7th Congressional District has re-elected Republican Congressman David Rouzer for a fourth term. The former state Senator handily defeated his Democratic challenger.Rouzer’s shared views with the President include his skepticism over whether masks actually slow the spread of coronavirus – despite the CDC’s definitive statements that masks are protective – for the wearer and those nearby.  

Ted Davis has represented House District 19 for four-and-a-half terms, and he’s a current member of the House Select Committee on Community Relations, Law Enforcement, and Justice. He will now represent the new House District 20. In House District 19, the district Davis is leaving to move to 20, Republican newcomer Charlie Miller bested Democratic candidate Marcia Morgan by more than sixteen points.  

North Carolina’s House District 18 will keep its Democratic Incumbent.  Representative Deb Butler embarks on a third term with a nearly 20-point margin.As the only Democratic legislative leader in the Cape Fear region, Deb Butler says she will advocate for a redistricting process that takes the map-drawing power away from politicians and puts it in the hands of an independent commission.

In 2018, Harper Peterson edged out Michael Lee by just 231 votes. Two years later, unofficial results show Lee ahead by a wider margin – more than 1400 votes or slightly more than a point.In neighboring Senate District 8, Republican Incumbent Bill Rabon kept his seat by more than 25 points. It’s the second time Democrat David Sink challenged the five-term incumbent. Rabon begins his sixth term.

While the jockeying for first, second, and third place went back and forth, it was the same three names at the top of the results for New Hanover County's Board of Commissioners race throughout the night. WHQR's Ben Schachtman recaps the results.


Katelyn Freund is a nonfiction student at UNCW's MFA Creative Writing program. She holds degrees in Spanish and English. In her time not spent working as WHQR's CoastLine Producer, she enjoys shooting pool, humor writing, and snacking.
Rachel is a graduate of UNCW's Master of Public Administration program, specializing in Urban and Regional Policy and Planning. She also received a Master of Education and two Bachelor of Arts degrees in Political Science and French Language & Literature from NC State University. She served as WHQR's News Fellow from 2017-2019. Contact her by email: rkeith@whqr.org or on Twitter @RachelKWHQR
Rachel hosts and produces CoastLine, an award-winning hourlong conversation featuring artists, humanitarians, scholars, and innovators in North Carolina. The show airs Wednesdays at noon and Sundays at 2 pm on 91.3 FM WHQR Public Media. It's also available as a podcast; just search CoastLine WHQR. You can reach her at rachellh@whqr.org.
Ben Schachtman is a journalist and editor with a focus on local government accountability. He began reporting for Port City Daily in the Wilmington area in 2016 and took over as managing editor there in 2018. He’s a graduate of Rutgers College and later received his MA from NYU and his PhD from SUNY-Stony Brook, both in English Literature.
Hannah is WHQR's All Things Considered host, and also reports on science, the environment, and climate change. She enjoys loud music, documentaries, and stargazing; and is the proud mother of three cats, a dog, and many, many houseplants. Contact her via email at hbreisinger@whqr.org, or on Twitter @hbreisinger.