© 2023 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
WHQR's streaming is working intermittently. We are working on resolving the issue, and we apologize for the inconvenience

New Hanover County's 2013 Municipal Elections: The Beach Towns

Courtesy City of Wilmington
New Hanover County citizens watch beach town municipal election returns trickle in.

The only Mayoral contest in New Hanover County was in Carolina Beach – where newcomer Dan Wilcox ousted incumbent Bob Lewis by just five votes. 

LeAnn Pierce, owner of a small hotel in Carolina Beach, won the most votes and will join the re-elected Gary Doetch on Town Council.

In Kure Beach, Dean Lambeth, who ran unopposed for Mayor kept his seat.  And the two council candidates – Craig Blozsinsky and Steve Pagley - won the two open seats on Kure Beach Town Council.

Wrightsville Beach welcomes new Mayor Bill Blair – who ran unopposed after David Cignotti announced that he would NOT seek another term. 

And Lisa Weeks and Hank Miller will serve on the Board of Aldermen in Wrightsville Beach – pushing out former Mayor Pro Tem Bill Sisson. 

New Hanover County Board of Elections Director Marvin McFadyen says nothing is set in stone until the votes are canvassed.  Official results will be announced next Tuesday.

Rachel hosts and produces CoastLine, an award-winning hourlong conversation featuring artists, humanitarians, scholars, and innovators in North Carolina. The show airs Wednesdays at noon and Sundays at 2 pm on 91.3 FM WHQR Public Media. It's also available as a podcast; just search CoastLine WHQR. You can reach her at rachellh@whqr.org.