NC Election Filing Ends with 13 Gubernatorial Hopefuls

Feb 29, 2012

North Carolina’s election filing closed Wednesday at noon. Statewide, 13 contenders have entered the ring for a shot at the governor's post. 

In New Hanover County, ten candidates are vying for the three open county commissioner seats while nine candidates will campaign for three board of education seats.

Both Jason Thompson and Jonathan Barfield are seeking reelection as county commissioners. Incumbents for the board of education include Jeanette Nichols and Elizabeth Redenbaugh.

For the 7th U.S. Congressional District, Democratic incumbent Mike McIntyre will seek his 9th term against one of three Republican challengers. They include 2010 candidate Ilario Pantano, current State Senator David Rouzer, and Randy Crow.

Republican incumbent Thom Goolsby will face democrat Deb Butler for state Senate District 9. The current chair of the New Hanover County Board of Commissioners, Ted Davis, Jr., will run for House district 19 against Dean Lambeth and Emilie Swearingen. And Commissioner Rick Catlin faces Democrat Tom Gale for the House District 20 race. 

Incumbents are running for both  state House districts that cover parts of Brunswick County, as well as Senate District 8 which covers Brunswick, Bladen, Pender, and part of New Hanover.

Republican incumbent Bill Rabon is running against Democrat Danny Hefner for the 8th District race for North Carolina Senate.

For state House District 17, Republican incumbent Frank Iler faces Democratic challenger Lundia Washington.

The race for House district 18 will include a primary battle between Democratic incumbent Susi Hamilton and candidate James Knox. The May primary winner will run against Republican Louis Harmati.

For the Brunswick County board of commissioners, nine candidates are vying for three seats, including incumbents Scott Phillips and Charles Warren.

Six candidates will compete for half as many seats on the county board of education. Incumbents Bud Thorsen, Catherine Cooke, and Shirley Babson are all seeking reelection.

In Pender County, there are three candidates for two commissioner posts, including incumbents Jimmy Tate and F.D. Rivenbark.

Four candidates will run for two Pender school board seats with incumbents Karen Gonzales and Karen Rouse among them.

And three Republicans will compete in the May 8th primary for the 16th District of the state House. Republican incumbent Carolyn Justice is not seeking reelection. 

Check out the 2012 candidate list for North Carolina state Senate and House races. You can also view the candidate lists for New Hanover, Brunswick, and Pender counties. 

Do you have insight or expertise on this topic? If so, we'd like to hear from you. Please email the WHQR News Team.