© 2021 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
00000177-efb4-dee4-afff-efbec5b90000Click here for voting information on polling places, voter registration, and more. To meet the people who want to represent you, click on the “live” links below for feature pieces on contested races. New features are posted weekly and all reporting will be posted by March 1st. HQR News 91.3 FM...For complete Election 2020 News and Coverage. Results Primary 2020 Results: Ted Davis, Jr. Wins In District 20 House ContestPrimary 2020 Results: Race For New Hanover County Commissioners Down To Three From Each PartyPrimary 2020 Results: The Race For NC House District 19Two Incumbents Out, One Remains in 2020 Brunswick County PrimariesChristopher Ward Wins 7th Congressional District Democratic Primary, Will Challenge Rouzer Coverage from CoastLine: CoastLine: Primary 2020 Results Bring November into FocusCoastLine: Primary 2020 Preview - Races, Issues, Candidates with PCDWHQR Talks With Port City Daily's Ben Schachtman on Local Issues and Upcoming Primaries*Any inquries about 2020 Primary Election Coverage can be addressed to Rachel Keith at rkeith@whqr.org. Reporter Coverage: US House District 7 - DRobert Colon Mark JudsonChristopher M. Ward NC House District 19 - R Charlie MillerDavid A. Perry NC House District 19 - D James Dawkins, Jr. Marcia MorganNC House District 20 - R Ted Davis, Jr. Justin LaNasaNHC Commissioner - D Jonathan Barfield, Jr. Don Betz Leslie CohenKyle HortonSteve Miller Travis Robinson NHC Commissioner - R Deb Hays Joe IrreraHarry KnightJohn Lyon Frank Christopher MearesRicky Meeks Matt Rhodes Bill Rivenbark Skip Watkins NHC Board of Education - RJanice CavenaughFrederick Fisher Stephanie KraybillPete Wildeboer BC Commissioner District 3 -R Pat Sykes Jeff WinecoffBC Board of Education District 2 - R Catherine D. Cooke David M. Robinson BC Board of Education District 4 - RShirley C. Babson Steven Barger Ellen G. Milligan

Primary Voting Day is March 3rd -- New Hanover County Early Primary Voting Numbers Increase


Primary election day is Tuesday, March 3rd with candidates on the ballot for federal, state, district, and county offices. With one-stop voting now complete, WHQR reports this year the number of early voters in New Hanover County was up twenty four percent from 2016—the most recent presidential primary election year.

This year’s early primary voting had five additional one-stop days with thousands more ballots cast.

On election day, Tuesday, polling places are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Rae Hunter-Havens, the Elections Director for New Hanover County, wants to remind voters election day polling places are different than early voting sites:

"We do have three House districts in New Hanover County and two Senate districts. We want to make sure that if you do end up voting outside your precinct that you’re not voting in perhaps in a precinct that doesn’t have your ballot stock. So we want to make sure you’re able to cast your vote for whomever your elected officials may be."

Hunter-Havens also says if you’re not registered to vote, you can only cast a provisional ballot. Citizens cannot register to vote on primary day.

Voters with any questions about their registration or polling site should visit their County Board of Elections website.

A photo ID will not be necessary for this election.  And registered unaffiliated voters can choose to cast a ballot in the Democratic, Republican, or Libertarian primaries. 

Click here to find interviews with candidates in major contested races in New Hanover and Brunswick Counties.

Click here for Brunswick, New Hanover, and Pender Counties polling site and voter registration information.