© 2024 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
00000177-efb4-dee4-afff-efbec5710000Click here for voting information on polling places, voter registration, and more. To meet the people who want to represent you, click on the “live” links below for one-on-one interviews with candidates and our HQR news staff. Posted interviews are longer versions--averaging 10 minutes--of our on-air election coverage. New interviews are posted weekly and all candidate interviews will be posted by October 22nd. For CoastLIne interviews, click on “live” links below, subscribe to our CoastLine podcast on iTunes, or Search WHQR-FM: CoastLine to hear our most recent shows.Altogether, our continuing coverage will include almost 60 interviews and over 10 hours of conversation.HQR News 91.3 FM...For complete Election 2019 News and Coverage.Municipal Election Results:Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo Holds Onto Seat by 4 Points Against Devon Scott ChallengeLeAnn Pierce Makes History In Carolina Beach Mayor RaceVeronica Carter Scores Most Votes In Leland Town Council RaceNewcomer Kevin Spears Wins Wilmington City Council SeatBrunswick County 2019 Municipal Election Results Include Incumbent UpsetsLeland Mayor Brenda Bozeman Trounces ChallengerWrightsville Beach Sees Mayor Pro Tem Nab Mayoral Seat; No Contests in Kure BeachReverse Osmosis Plan Supporters Win Majority On H2GO Board2019 Pender County Election ResultsMunicipal Election Day Turnout Appears Strong, Despite Rainy AfternoonOne-on-one Candidate Interviews:Wilmington City Council (3 open seats)Neil AndersonMack CoyleMargaret HaynesPaul LawlerAlexandria Monroe, not actively pursuing candidacyScott MonroeHarry Smith, Jr.Kimberly SpaderKevin SpearsMatt ThriftTown of Carolina Beach Council (2 open seats)Lynn BarbeeDebi DiNataleJay HealyShell Serracin-Macon, not actively pursuing candidacySteve ShuttleworthTown of Leland Council (2 open seats)Bob CampbellVeronica A. CarterLouis HarmatiRick PaxtonTown of Surf City MayorDoug MedlinJeremy ShugartsTown of Surf City Council (3 open seats)William J. (Buddy) FowlerDavid GilbrideDonald HelmsKathleen G. SumnerDwight TorresRichard B. VessovTown of Wrightsville Beach - MayorGreg BuscemiDarryl MillsTown of Oak Island Council (3 open seats)Sheila Mansfield BellCharlie BlalockNiki CutlerMichael (Mike) DefeoDara RoyalJeff WinecoffCity of Southport Board of Alderman Ward 1 (1 open seat)Tom LombardiDavid MillerRobert Tucker, not actively pursuing candidacyCity of Southport Board of Alderman Ward 2 (2 open seats)Nelson E. AdamsJohn AllenLowe DavisEric KingJim PowellRick PukenasCoastLine Coverage:City of Wilmington - Mayor Bill SaffoDevon ScottTown of Carolina Beach - MayorTom ElicsonLeAnn Pierce T.D. ScaringiDorrene StanleyTown of Leland - MayorBrenda BozemanShirley A. Lawler, After filing to run for Mayor, she initially told us she’d participate in the CoastLine Candidate Interviews. But multiple attempts by WHQR to confirm her interview have gone unanswered.Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer H2GO Commissioner (2 open seats)John BradleyJeff GerkenSteve HosmerBarry Laub City of Southport - MayorJerry DoveJoe Pat HatemOther Election Coverage:New Hanover County Early Voting Numbers Up 51% from 2017CoastLine Elections 2019: Reporter Round Table with Port City DailyNC 9th District Race Highlights Challenges for Republicans In 2020*Editor's Note: We have invited all candidates to attend the CoastLine Candidate and reporter interviews. Any additional inquiries of Election 2019 can be sent to rkeith@whqr.org.

Brunswick County 2019 Municipal Election Results Include Incumbent Upsets

Joe Pat Hatem
Joe Pat Hatem beat Southport Mayor Jerry Dove in his third consecutive challenge.

The City of Southport saw all its incumbents thrown out.  The same two mayoral candidates faced off for the third consecutive time – which turned out to be the charm for Challenger Joe Pat Hatem.  He unseated Mayor Jerry Dove by a very large margin – taking 63% of the vote. 

Southport has two wards – and there were contests for seats in both.  In Ward 1, Robert Tucker lost his bid for re-election to Tom Lombardi.  In Ward 2, Lowe Davis and John Allen beat out incumbents Jim Powell and Rick Pukenas --- who came in dead last in a field of six.   

The Town of Oak Island elected a new mayor in Challenger Ken Thomas.  But incumbent Cin Brochure, who served for two terms, lost by a thin margin – less than two-and-a-half points or just 65 votes. 

Oak Island’s Town Council also had contests for the three open seats.  All three incumbents – Jeff Winecoff, Sheila Mansfield Bell, and Charlie Blalock -- won new terms. 

Some residents in the Lanvale Forest subdivision in Brunswick County faced a referendum on whether to approve annexation into the Town of Leland.  The referendum passed – with 82% of voters saying they want to be in the Town of Leland.

The Town of Navassa boasts three districts, and the only contest was in District 1.   Jerry Merrick will join Buzzie Hardy and Buddy Ballard on the Board of Commissioners. 

In Belville, Mayor Mike Allen had no challenger and will serve another term. 

Incumbent Morgan Mehler will serve another term as Belville Commissioner.  He’s joined by Chuck Bost.  David Long did not run again.

Bald Head Island, an affluent island community accessible only by boat with just a few hundred year-round residents, saw its Village Council gain two new members after the only incumbent who ran again, Kit Adcock, kept her seat.  Michael Brown and Peter Quinn join her on the Board. 

In the City of Boiling Spring Lakes, Mayor Craig Caster will serve another term.  With two challengers, he still walked away with 42% of the vote. 

On the Board of Commissioners, the one incumbent running lost to two challengers:  Teagan Perry Hall and Tom Guzulaitis are the City’s newest Board members. 

In Sunset Beach, voters ousted all the incumbents.  Shannon “Hotdog” Phillips replaces sitting Mayor Paul Van Wormer.  And Jamie Phillips and Tom Bormann replace the two incumbents on Town Council. 

Rachel hosts and produces CoastLine, an award-winning hourlong conversation featuring artists, humanitarians, scholars, and innovators in North Carolina. The show airs Wednesdays at noon and Sundays at 2 pm on 91.3 FM WHQR Public Media. It's also available as a podcast; just search CoastLine WHQR. You can reach her at rachellh@whqr.org.