© 2024 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
CAPE FEAR MEMORIAL BRIDGE: Updates, resources, and context

CoastLine: NHC Political Party Chairs Weigh in on Municipal Elections, 2016 Races

Municipal elections across North Carolina have concluded; the results are in. 

Wilmington City Council welcomes back its two incumbents – Margaret Haynes and Neil Anderson.  Paul Lawler was the third-highest vote-getter – winning the seat Laura Padgett vacated after more than two decades on Council.  The window between Paul Lawler and fourth placer-Deb Hays wasn’t huge:  88 votes. 

Leland Town Council and the H2GO Board saw an upset.  Brenda Bozeman, Leland’s mayor won another term easily, but the single incumbent on Leland’s town council lost her seat to newcomers to Michael Callahan and Bob Campbell.  The incumbents on the H2G0 Board of Commissioners, John Crowder and Poe Butler, were ousted by challengers Trudy Trombley and Jeff Gerken who oppose the direction of the water authority.

Now that we know who the next leaders of our towns and cities will be, how much change – or continuity can we expect to see? 


Michael Franklin, Chair, New Hanover County Republican Party.

Elizabeth Redenbaugh, Chair, New Hanover County Democratic Party.

Rachel hosts and produces CoastLine, an award-winning hourlong conversation featuring artists, humanitarians, scholars, and innovators in North Carolina. The show airs Wednesdays at noon and Sundays at 4 pm on 91.3 FM WHQR Public Media. It's also available as a podcast; just search CoastLine WHQR. You can reach her at rachellh@whqr.org.