© 2024 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Kure Beach Elects Offshore Oil Drilling Opponent as Mayor; Carolina Beach Keeps Incumbents

Town of Kure Beach

Carolina Beach Mayor Dan Wilcox will keep his seat for another term.  Challenger Bob Lewis lost to Wilcox by 276 votes.  On the Town Council, incumbent Steve Shuttleworth also kept his seat and won the most votes of all seven candidates competing for two seats.  Tom Bridges won the second open seat by a wide margin.  The third-place vote-getter, Tammy Hanson, came in a distant third – losing to Bridges by 319 votes.  That’s a percentage difference of almost 12 points.

In Kure Beach, vocal seismic testing and offshore drilling opponent Emilie Swearingen beat current mayor Dean Lambeth by 54 votes.  That’s a difference of almost 9%. 

Kure Beach Town Council will see incumbent David Heglar for another term – as well as political newcomer Joseph Whitley – another vocal opponent of offshore energy exploration. 

Wrightsville Beach had no contests.  Bill Blair will serve as Mayor for another term – as will current Aldermen Darryl Mills and Elizabeth Brown King.

Rachel hosts and produces CoastLine, an award-winning hourlong conversation featuring artists, humanitarians, scholars, and innovators in North Carolina. The show airs Wednesdays at noon and Sundays at 2 pm on 91.3 FM WHQR Public Media. It's also available as a podcast; just search CoastLine WHQR. You can reach her at rachellh@whqr.org.