© 2021 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

35 Counties Getting Funds for Lost Crops


Governor Bev Perdue has received a disaster declaration for 35 North Carolina counties from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

WHQR’s Michelle Bliss reports the declaration will provide recovery assistance to farmers affected by last year’s damage from hurricanes and tornadoes.

The designation enables farmers to apply for funding through low-interest Farm Service Assistance loans and Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments.

New Hanover, Pender and Onslow counties are some of the local areas included. 

Perdue says the state must do everything it can to help farmers recover from last year’s devastation in order to be ready for this year’s growing season.

Farmers in designated counties have until September to apply for disaster assistance to cover crop losses.

Farmers can apply for assistance by calling 919-875-4800. 

And here's the full county list of counties. 

Do you have insight or expertise on this topic? If so, we'd like to hear from you. Please email the WHQR News Team.