Beth Dawson Takes Helm of New Hanover County Commission

Dec 14, 2015

The New Hanover County Board of Commissioners has a new chair:  Beth Dawson takes the helm after a narrow three-to-two vote at Monday's meeting. 

Skip Watkins nominated Woody White for Chair; White seconded the motion. 

Jonathan Barfield nominated Beth Dawson – as he promised publicly that he would a year ago.  This was widely expected after Dawson helped Barfield to the Chairmanship in a three-to-two vote last year.   The local Republican Party blasted Dawson last December for that move.

Jonathan Barfield is now the Vice Chair after receiving three votes.  Although he was the only nominated member, Woody White and Skip Watkins declined to vote.