WHQR's Candidate Forums

Sep 18, 2012

WHQR will host and broadcast four candidate forums as part of the 2012 Election Season in the MC Erny Gallery, 254 N. Front Street, #300.

Each forum will feature two local journalists asking prepared questions during the first half of the event.  The second portion will be dedicated to questions from voters.   A live studio audience will be invited to ask questions during this segment.  We'll also use questions sent in from listeners.

If you have a question for the candidates, please email us (newsdirector@whqr.org) or submit via Twitter with the #whqrforums hash tag and tell us which slate of candidates you'd like to address. 

We reserve the right to edit the questions for clarity, brevity, and objectivity.  Each question must be addressed to all candidates in a particular race.  

If you can't attend the live event, Tweet along while you tune in or listen or watch the webcast online at 7 PM each night to hear the candidates! If you miss it, all coverage will be posted here.

(WWAY will also broadcast the forums live on Time Warner Cable.  RTV is channel 106, on ATMC, channel 903, on Charter Cable, channel 145 and over-the-air at 3.2.)

Tuesday, Oct. 2, 7 PM- New Hanover County Commissioners

  • Jonathan Barfield (Current Vice Chairman)
  • Beth Dawson
  • Robert Murray
  • Dr. Derrick Hickey
  • Woody White
  • Rob Zapple

 Thursday, Oct. 4, 7 PM- NC House District 18

  • Representative Susi Hamilton (D)
  • Louis Harmati (R)

 Monday, Oct. 8, 7 PM - NC Senate District 9

  • Senator Thom Goolsby (R)
  • Deb Butler (D) 

 Thursday, Oct. 18, 7 PM - NC House District 19 & NC House District 20 

NC House District 19

  • Ted Davis, Jr. (Current NHC Commission Chair)
  • Emilie Swearingen (Current Kure Beach Councilwoman)

NC House District 20

  • Rick Catlin (Current NHC Commissioner) (R)
  • Tom Gale (D)