© 2022 254 North Front Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, NC 28401 | 910.343.1640
News Classical 91.3 Wilmington 92.7 Wilmington 96.7 Southport
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Spoon's Got 'Hot Thoughts' On The Way

Spoon's new album, <em>Hot Thoughts</em>, comes out March 17.
Zackery Michael
Courtesy of the artist
Spoon's new album, <em>Hot Thoughts</em>, comes out March 17.

In a career that spans more than 20 years, Spoon has perfected a kind of ruthlessly airtight efficiency: Every few years, the Austin band returns with a new batch of perfectly compact three-minute pop-rock songs. As consistent as it is beloved, Spoon never fails to hit its mark — delivered forcefully, and with hooks for days.

On March 17, Spoon returns with its ninth album, Hot Thoughts — and if the title track is any indication, that impeccably chosen palette's got a few new colors. Thanks in part, no doubt, to Dave Fridmann joining the band as a co-producer, "Hot Thoughts" has a rangy, swirly sparkle to it, portending an album that spreads out for a bit of a journey.

Hot Thoughts Track Listing

1. Hot Thoughts

2. WhisperI'lllistentohearit

3. Do I Have To Talk You Into It

4. First Caress

5. Pink Up

6. Can I Sit Next To You

7. I Ain't The One

8. Tear It Down

9. Shotgun

10. Us

Spoon's Hot Thoughts comes out March 17 via Matador.

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.